Summer Shopping

Years ago, when I got tired of hearing kids constantly telling me they were hungry and asking food, I had the idea that they could purchase and ration their own snacks.  Then when they were hungry, they would have their own stash and didn’t need to bother me about it.

It kind of worked.

What didn’t work was that it was crazy trying to help so many kids at the store to make good choices and manage their own budget.  What also didn’t work was that some of the kids were so little that they weren’t participating and they didn’t understand why older siblings could eat certain treats that they could not.

But this year, when I had the thought that I didn’t want to hear anyone tell me they were hungry again, it was quickly followed by the realization that now they are all old enough to participate and understand.  Score!

Today was the day.  We went to the grocery store and they each had their own cart.  They also each had a budget I had given them of $22 each.  The rules were that this food was to last them for a month and they could not buy soda or candy.  Some of them wanted to buy some fresh fruit but I told them that I would buy fresh fruit because I knew it would not last for a month and also I did feel some obligation as the person who had brought them into mortality to provide them with fresh produce.

Anyway, it was really cool.  I started off with the little girls while the boys went their way.  But even that was cumbersome and difficult so Pink went off by herself while I helped Winkleberry.  But eventually I worked my way around to helping all the kids.  They enjoyed seeing what the others had chosen and getting ideas from each other.

I got to show them that for the price of purchasing two individual containers of cereal, they could purchase an entire box of cereal.  And that for the price of two little bottles of milk, they could buy a whole gallon of milk.   I loved asking them about what they bought and then double checking the area.  Several times I was able to point out deals that would provide them with a similar product for $1-$3 less.  They were always willing to trade for the cheaper thing and then go buy something else with their savings.  Once we were comparing weights and prices and I was able to show them that purchasing two smaller items would actually get them more for their money than purchasing the one larger item (of all stupid things).

We checked out in four separate transactions and they each took their own receipt, wheeled their carts to the car and loaded their own groceries.  When we got home, they unloaded their things themselves, labeled their items with stickers and put them away.  All refrigerated or freezer items were put away in their respective places and pantry items were placed in tubs and are stored in food storage.

But the learning still continues.  As soon as we got home, one of the kids asked if they could eat their snacks.  I said when they eat their food is up to them.  But, it was lunch time.  And maybe they wanted to eat the lunch that I would prepare to fill their tummies and save their snacks for another time.  They all decided to wait.

Anyway, Kelvinator especially just kept thanking me profusely.  He had so much fun shopping for himself and picking out what he wanted.  So I hope it’s a good thing and that maybe we can keep it up.

Leave a comment