The Men in My Life

The past ten days have been utterly crazy here in the Big Blue House.  There has been lots of upheaval and change.  There have been lots of physical and time demands on us.  But in additional, there have also been many emotional and psychological demands as well.  It’s been particularly stressful.

And my husband has been my hero through it all.  He single-handedly planned and executed all the physical labor.  He was a work horse.  Every day.  All day long.  It left me breathless to see how hard he was working.  I think I had underestimated the time and effort all of these demands would take but he just slaved away and got it all done almost completely without my help….Which consisted of me making phone calls and organizing a few businessy things.  But he never was upset for how little I was doing and just told me how grateful I was for taking care of these small things.

And there was no rest for the weary because we hadn’t even finished with this other thing when he had to start preparing for Scout Camp which is happening now.  So  in the midst of all that, he was planning and organizing and packing and communicating with ten boys and their parents.  And in the midst of some crazy personal life stuff, he is off serving them and trying to provide them with a good experience.  He texted me tonight to say he loves me and goodnight.

He is amazing.

So there are only a few people at home now, actually.  We had Family Home Evening with just four of us tonight!  But I was not left alone.  X got only a few hours of sleep last night and then spent 11 hours working today outside doing heavy labor in 100 degree heat.  But he came home and moved a heavy box for me, fed the cat for me, turned off all the lights in the basement before I could and most importantly got Wink to go to bed and stay there after I had been trying for a while.

I got an email from JJ today, too.  We hadn’t heard from him last week so it was good to hear from him.  He has been working hard every day with the sole purpose of serving and teaching others.  And he’s trying to improve himself all along the way.  He told me how much he loves me and missed me and purposefully spent significant time emailing me and telling me about his life.

I am surrounded by some really great men.  And they love ME.  I am so blessed.

One thought on “The Men in My Life

  1. S July 5, 2016 / 4:36 pm

    Love it!

    Like

Leave a comment