Overheard

After school…

Kelvinator:  Mom, what’s your favorite kind of music?

X:  I know all mom’s favorite music!  (Calling over to another child on the computer) Can you go to spotify and start “Mom’s Playlist” that I made her?

Me:  I like lots of different kinds of music.  I like dancing to hip hop–

Kelvinator:  What’s hip hop?

Me:  It’s like between pop and rap.  It’s got a really good beat.  I don’t know how to describe it.  X, how would you describe hip hop?

X:  It’s got a really good beat…

Me:  I’ll call Wiyah.  She’ll have a good definition….Hey, Wiyah.  Are you busy?  Kelvinator doesn’t know what hip hop is.

Wiyah:  WHAT?

Me:  Yeah, how would you describe it for him?

Wiyah:  A really good beat is like the predominant feature of hip hop so it’s really good to dance to.

Me:  That’s what X and I said!  Do you have an example of a modern hip hop song that Kelvinator might know?  I can only think of examples from decades ago.

Leave a comment