What One Car Looks Like

Unfortunately for us it’s winter and the one vehicle we have to use is the suckiest winter vehicle ever.  Rear-while drive, weighted all wrong.  It’s the only car I’ve ever fishtailed in.  (It was on the freeway going about 15 mph)  It frequently slips and slides all over the road when they are the least bit snowy.  I’ve had so many horrible experiences–only in that van in the winter–that I now experience anxiety any time I have to drive it in winter conditions.  I just can’t overstate how bad it is.

And now it’s our only vehicle.  Yesterday I was stressing out about all the snow and how X was going to be driving KIDS to and from SCHOOL in that beast on snowy roads.  But then I realized he only gets to drive the van if we have two or more vehicles.  But now that we are down to just one vehicle, he can’t keep the one car at school all day.  So it’s relieving that he won’t be driving the van all winter long.  On the other hand, that means I will get to do plenty of winter driving in that beast.

This is what our morning schedule might look like:

7:15  Drive boys to middle school and high school and come home
7:45  Drive Baboo to work and come home
8:05  Drive the little girls to elementary school and come home

And then like on Fridays, the afternoon schedule would look something like this:

1:15  Drive to elementary school to pick up girls and come home
2:45  Drive to high school and middle school to pick up boys
3:30  Pick up Baboo from work

(Baboo might be getting a car soonish so that would take her out of the mix.)

And that doesn’t take into account the times when the Hubba has work meetings or errands I need to run or the myriad other activities that everyone might need to be driven to and picked up from.  Meanwhile we are getting about 13 miles a gallon.

I have serious car fantasies.

Leave a comment